Welcome to the autumn term 2020!

EYFS Curriculum and Online Learning Journeys

The Early Years Foundation Stage is organised into 7 areas of learning. 
There are 3 Prime areas that underpin everything in the Early Years:
  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
There are 4 Specific areas which help to strengthen and apply the prime areas:
  • Literacy 
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design
All of the areas are connected together and the Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning weave through them all.
The 3 Characteristics of Effective Teaching and Learning are:
  • Playing and Exploring - Children investigate and experience things, and 'have a go'
  • Active Learning - Children concentrate keep on trying and enjoy achievements
  • Creating and Thinking Critically - Children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas and develop strategies for doing things
 In Nursery, learning and development will be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activities. As the Prime areas are crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, these will be our focus areas whilst 'dipping' in to the specific areas occasionally. This will support the children to become secure within the Prime areas  meaning they will be ready to learn in depth within the Specific areas and also ensuring children are ready for school.